Well hello there…it’s been awhile

With the beginning of a new year on the horizon I thought it was time for a new post. I can’t believe that 2011 is coming to an end. It seems the older I get the faster time flies. I’m looking forward to the start of a fresh new year. Instead of the usual New Years resolution, I decided to set some changes into motion before the start of the new year. For the last 3 days I’ve been following Dr. Joel Fuhrman’s Eat To Live diet. It’s basically a vegan diet with the option of adding in a small amount of animal products back in after the initial 6 weeks. The goal is to eat one pound of raw vegetables a day, one pound of cooked vegetables a day, 1 cup of beans, 1 tbs ground Flaxseed, and 1 ounce of nuts. It’s a lot of food! The hardest part for me is not giving up meat, but giving up salt and sugar. But I’m feeling pretty good on my third day and I’m hoping I feel even better tomorrow. Luckily 2-4 oz glasses of red wine are allowed daily in this plan otherwise it would have been a no go!
My husband gave me a Kindle Fire for Christmas and I am loving it! I’ve always been a big reader, but in the last couple of years I haven’t had as much time to read and when I do read I get headaches very easily. I’m finding that with the Kindle I’m able to read with much less strain on my eyes. I’ve already finished reading Sarah’s Key (highly recommend it!), Eat To Live (again, highly recommend it!) and I’m part way through Chris Orwig’s Visual Poetry book. Visual Poetry is totally inspiring and is making me fall in love with photography all over again.
I will be attempting another 365+1 stating January 1st. My friend Allison, started a group on Flickr and I immediately signed up. I’m hoping to update this blog with my daily photographs as well as my Flickr stream.
So enough babble….here are some photos.

Sometimes everything comes together to make a perfect photo.  This image is SOOC and the light was perfectly illuminating the thorn, the sun flare was beautiful, the bokeh silky smooth.  It doesn’t happen often, but when it does…it’s magic to me.

This photo goes along with a previous post.  These are the glasses etched with one of my late grandfather’s phrases from my childhood, “Let’s the hell get out of here”.  Cheers Dad!

(2}
Ever tried Campari?  I wouldn’t really recommend it, but it happened to be my grandfather’s favorite.  Ever since he passed away 5 years ago my husband, father and brother-in-law toast Dad every Christmas Eve with a shot of Campari.  This year I decided to get engraved glasses for their annual toast with one of Dad’s favorite phrases, “Let’s the hell get out of here”.  When we were little kids and about to leave a restaurant Dad would look at us and with a twinkle in his eye say “Let’s get the hell out of here”.  My sister could never quite get the phrase correct so it turned into “Let’s the hell get out of here”.  I got a phone call soon after I placed the order for the glasses to be sure I had typed the phrase correctly!  It’s just one of those things that always reminds us of Dad and how he got such a kick out of hearing us grandkids say it.  I made a cocktail this year since the glasses were a bit big for a shot.  It consisted of club soda, orange juice and a shot of Campari.  It was still pretty bitter, but it was better than a straight shot of that stuff.  Cheers Dad!

2 thoughts on “Well hello there…it’s been awhile

  1. What a beautiful post and lovely photos! Could you please tell me where you ordered those glasses from? Such a wonderful way to personalize a gift! I adore it.

    Thank you for sharing the 365+1 group on flickr with me. I joined and look forward to this year long challenge. Happy holidays Leigh!

Leave a Reply

