Just The Facts Ma’am

Sometimes I look at black and white photography as giving me the facts.  The color is no longer the main wow factor and instead I really start to examine the texture, the light, the composition.  Believe me, this Asparagus plant was glorious in all her green, but when stripped down to the basics of light and dark, ironically, she really came to life!  For a color-a-holic like myself….it really takes a lot for me to desaturate a photo. Usually after I make it monotone I still can’t decide if I like it or the color version better.  I always want to put the two side by side and post them both.  But when I saw the color fade away and the light exposing each feathery little detail in the photo I knew that I had made the right choice.

Image

9 thoughts on “Just The Facts Ma’am

  1. Are you doing Picture B&W? I am. It will be a real challenge to eliminate color. I think it’s a good thing that the prompts will be every other day that way we can still fit some color in.

  2. Ooooh! Very nice, Leigh! I have to confess, Picture B&W is going to be a real challenge for this color junkie but when I see inspiring photos like this I feel a bit more motivated.

  3. This is so lovely! I am like you when it comes to changing things to black and white. I like to do it with portraits sometimes, but it would be really hard to do it for a plant like you did. But look how gorgeous!!! I will have to think twice now1

Leave a Reply

